Suikoden United and Irrational Knowledge Old Xperience

Suikox Home | The Speculation Shelter | Tablet of Stars | Suikoden Timeline | Suikoden Geography |Legacies


  [ View Profile | Edit Profile | Nation System | Members | Groups | Search | Register | Check PMs | Log in | FAQ ]

Naval Rules Revision from Phase 15
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Budehuc Castle
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Vextor




Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Post Count: 12046
Location: Hell
11253073 Potch
23689 Soldiers
160 Nation Points

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Nope, they don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuji




Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Post Count: 7067
Location: North Sparrow Pass
9643133 Potch
16500 Soldiers
100 Nation Points

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

The supply run is used to un-cutoff a region if I understand this correctly. If successful, the nation will be able to gain one more PP as well as negate the cut-off penalty in battle.

When a nation submits it's DOI, it will state the following, assuming they currently have 7 PP.

1. Supply run - person 1 (1,000 troops), person 2 (1 troop), person 3 (1 troop) to Region-A
2. Attack Cyan from Crayola

Thus, they are using 7 PP at DOI submission time. However, if their supply run was a success, they would have 8 total PP, or 6 PP still remaining (after spending 2 on the supply run).

The problem that arises is that a nation won't know if they receive that extra 1 PP until after their DOI is submitted. Thus, they cannot spend it and will lose it after the following turn.

Proposed solution 1 - make a supply run only negate the military cut-off penalty, but not grant extra PP.
Proposed solution 2 - make the supply run and results happen prior to DOI submission -- but mark them down as having already used 2 PP of their PP pool.
_________________
______ "We're still flying"

___ "That's not much"

"It's enough"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nimble Jack

Guard of the Old Way


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Post Count: 1499
Location: Matilda
319192 Potch
250 Soldiers
125 Nation Points

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Quote:
When passing through naval regions owned by enemy nations, a battle can take place immediately for one turn (intercept battle), or the defending nation may elect for a full phase battle. If the attacker wins the intercept battle, they can continue on with their conquest (with whatever damages sustained). If they lose, their naval campaign must be canceled. However, if the defender selects a full phase battle (as long as they have enough unused ships with crew), the campaign will be stalled regardless of the battle result although the winner will gain (or retain) that particular naval region.


According to this I'm assuming that an intercept battle where the interceptor elects for the 1 turn option that even if the interceptor looses they will retain maritime superiority? Otherwise a naval campaign could take over dot after dot, theoretically.
_________________
"Not everything is possible, but there are an infinite number of possibilities."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vextor




Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Post Count: 12046
Location: Hell
11253073 Potch
23689 Soldiers
160 Nation Points

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Blasphemy wrote:
The supply run is used to un-cutoff a region if I understand this correctly. If successful, the nation will be able to gain one more PP as well as negate the cut-off penalty in battle.

When a nation submits it's DOI, it will state the following, assuming they currently have 7 PP.

1. Supply run - person 1 (1,000 troops), person 2 (1 troop), person 3 (1 troop) to Region-A
2. Attack Cyan from Crayola

Thus, they are using 7 PP at DOI submission time. However, if their supply run was a success, they would have 8 total PP, or 6 PP still remaining (after spending 2 on the supply run).

The problem that arises is that a nation won't know if they receive that extra 1 PP until after their DOI is submitted. Thus, they cannot spend it and will lose it after the following turn.

Proposed solution 1 - make a supply run only negate the military cut-off penalty, but not grant extra PP.
Proposed solution 2 - make the supply run and results happen prior to DOI submission -- but mark them down as having already used 2 PP of their PP pool.


Nah, never meant for supply runs to grant extra PP. It's purely for other stuff.



Nimble Jack wrote:
Quote:
When passing through naval regions owned by enemy nations, a battle can take place immediately for one turn (intercept battle), or the defending nation may elect for a full phase battle. If the attacker wins the intercept battle, they can continue on with their conquest (with whatever damages sustained). If they lose, their naval campaign must be canceled. However, if the defender selects a full phase battle (as long as they have enough unused ships with crew), the campaign will be stalled regardless of the battle result although the winner will gain (or retain) that particular naval region.


According to this I'm assuming that an intercept battle where the interceptor elects for the 1 turn option that even if the interceptor looses they will retain maritime superiority? Otherwise a naval campaign could take over dot after dot, theoretically.


Yep. If attacker sends overwhelming force to mow you down, and if you only send weak forces to intercept them, it's possible they'll go through multiple naval regions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RedCydranth

Ice Dragons


Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Post Count: 3384
Location: Crystal Valley
3650446 Potch
194 Soldiers
100 Nation Points

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Okay, I have a few questions about the Intercept turn and stuff. Nation A wants to attack Nation C navally. Nation B has 5 naval regions blocking the way. Nation B has no affiliation to Nation A, but is allied to Nation C. So, its obvious they may choose to intercept the fleet for 1 turn. Now, my question is, can they set up a blockade at all 5 of their naval regions that are in the way of Nation C making 5 intercept phase battles, or does one battle stretch across all 5 of Nation B's naval regions.

Also, Lets add in this. Nation A wants to attack Nation D. Nations B and C are in the way. For the intecrept turn (we'll say both B and C will intercept if possible) do they fight in order of the naval route? Like To get to Nation D's waters, they go through Nation B's first and then if they beat B, they have a whole new fight against Nation C? So if Nation A is succsessful against both Nations B and C, there's a chance some of their units will have already earned 2 victory counts? With this intercept phase, the maximum VCs gained per phase is no longer 4.

Also, in order to intercept, does the intercepting nation need to have a roster for an intercepting fleet (Like having a boat with Captain, Artillery and Marine) submitted with the DoI? Its rather tough to plan for someone else going through your waters.

If a Nation is already sending a fleet through their own waters to do a different task, can that fleet also serve as an intercepting fleet? Example. Nation A is going to claim a neutral naval dot, but Nation B is trying to sail through the same waters. Can Nation A choose to intercept the fleet with the same crew that is on the way to claim the naval dot? Loser goes home?

Lets say Nation A and B want to go through Nation C's waters. Nation C wants to intercept both. Can they use the same fleet twice or do the two battles happen simultaneously and require 2 seperate intercept fleets? If they can use the same fleet twice, who dictates which fight happens first?

Can duels be used in place of a 3 round Intercept turn?

You say that if there are mostly naval units aboard a Supply Convoy, it can more easily escape detection. Is the same true of attacking fleets (or fleets going to claim a neutral dot even) or are they easily detectible regardless of Naval units presence because of there being possibly more than 1 ship?

Okay thats all I got for now. Thanks.
_________________
I'm sorry and I apologize are the same thing.
Except at a funeral.

Fantasy Football (NFL) Sign Ups in Sports Forum!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fuji




Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Post Count: 7067
Location: North Sparrow Pass
9643133 Potch
16500 Soldiers
100 Nation Points

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

A few more questions about the supply run. Can one nation supply another nation's region? Something like Cyan is allied with Magenta. Cyan's region TTT is cut off. Magenta, being a nice ally decides it can spare 2 PP to supply Cyan's region TTT. Is this possible?

Further, does the supply run need a port of launch? If so, would it make the port unable to launch any other military actions. Such as, we can't currently launch two attacks from the same port. Is the rules the same here and that the supply run needs the port? Or, does it work like a raid where there is no launching point, only a destination?
_________________
______ "We're still flying"

___ "That's not much"

"It's enough"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sage

The Invincible Weeds


Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Post Count: 15653
Location: Blight's Bay
803820 Potch
0 Soldiers
2 Nation Points

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Mr. Knight, I think it was implied that the answer to your first question was dependent on the amount of force seen at that battle.

Moon Knight wrote:
You say that if there are mostly naval units aboard a Supply Convoy, it can more easily escape detection. Is the same true of attacking fleets (or fleets going to claim a neutral dot even) or are they easily detectible regardless of Naval units presence because of there being possibly more than 1 ship?


Sars wrote:
However, a full blown naval invasion armada will most likely be spotted by anybody, so no nation needs to worry that, "anybody can attack any port now!"

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Vextor




Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Post Count: 12046
Location: Hell
11253073 Potch
23689 Soldiers
160 Nation Points

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Blasphemy wrote:
A few more questions about the supply run. Can one nation supply another nation's region? Something like Cyan is allied with Magenta. Cyan's region TTT is cut off. Magenta, being a nice ally decides it can spare 2 PP to supply Cyan's region TTT. Is this possible?


As long as there's a military alliance or a trade agreement. Supply runs just serve to connect disconnected supply routes, so these would naturally include routes that involved international agreements.

Quote:

Further, does the supply run need a port of launch? If so, would it make the port unable to launch any other military actions. Such as, we can't currently launch two attacks from the same port. Is the rules the same here and that the supply run needs the port? Or, does it work like a raid where there is no launching point, only a destination?


Port of launch would be necessary, but you can launch as many supply runs as you want from a single port.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hawk Thanatos

Radical Dreamers


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Post Count: 3656
Location: Guardia Kingdom
167582 Potch
43 Soldiers
1337 Nation Points

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

This is similar to one of Red's questions, can multiple intercepts happen in the same naval region, like if the attacking nation sent two fleets to attack two different places, but they both passed through one of the enemies naval regions, could the defending nation intercept both there? And if so, how many defending ships will be needed to fight both fleets?

What about an intercept and a battle, can they happen in the same region? I assume they can because of the separation of the Intercept Phase and the rest of the battles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vextor




Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Post Count: 12046
Location: Hell
11253073 Potch
23689 Soldiers
160 Nation Points

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Hawk Thanatos wrote:
This is similar to one of Red's questions, can multiple intercepts happen in the same naval region, like if the attacking nation sent two fleets to attack two different places, but they both passed through one of the enemies naval regions, could the defending nation intercept both there? And if so, how many defending ships will be needed to fight both fleets?


Yes, and it will take as many ships as needed, which would depend on the situation.

Quote:

What about an intercept and a battle, can they happen in the same region? I assume they can because of the separation of the Intercept Phase and the rest of the battles.


Yep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angelus

Queen of Falena


Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Post Count: 6940
Location: Con Seņor Prima
579729 Potch
0 Soldiers
2545847 Nation Points

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

If a naval region that's cut off from the nation that owns it is being attacked, they can't go help, I understand. But what if the dot is also connected to an allying nation? Can they go help? Like, for example, Falena is being attacked at a naval region and can't go, but the Island Nations Federation is conneceted to that region. Would INF be able to send help and the battle happens like a normal one instead of a neutral one?
_________________


Jorge Prima wrote:
What? Our pokemon aren't obeying?

When a problem comes along YOU MUST WHIP IT!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Vextor




Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Post Count: 12046
Location: Hell
11253073 Potch
23689 Soldiers
160 Nation Points

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

If your naval region can be connected via the naval region of an allied nation, then it won't be cut-off to being with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iscalio




Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Post Count: 8370

1681589 Potch
0 Soldiers
0 Nation Points

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:51 am    Post subject: Re: Naval Rules Revision from Phase 15 Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Vextor wrote:
Shallow Draft - Ships with shallow draft will gain a 20% defensive bonus for all its crews when fighting in inland seas, lakes, or rivers. Out in the open water they suffer significant defensive penalties (50%) for all its crews members due to these vessels not being sea-worthy.

Am I right to assume that all the coastal marine superiorities tied to port regions count as inland seas? Because out of the named naval regions only Hei-Tou River and Lake Budehuc (and maybe Fjellet Stai and Sakaiguchi) would fulfill those conditions otherwise, which means that the Curry would be a rather useless ship.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vextor




Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Post Count: 12046
Location: Hell
11253073 Potch
23689 Soldiers
160 Nation Points

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Yeah, unfortunately that would be the case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timbo

The Wandering Prophets


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Post Count: 2964
Location: Darja
410837 Potch
300 Soldiers
835 Nation Points

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Quote:
When attacking naval regions owned by another nation, a full naval battle results (with three turns). The winner gains the naval region. In the case of attacking neutral naval regions (regions that are not owned by any nation), there is a chance that no battle
will happen, but in the case you encounter pirates or monsters, the battle will take only one turn. If the attacking nation wins that turn, they will gain the naval region.


If a nation takes a neutral naval location and does not have to fight, will the units being assigned be able to go to another location?
_________________
"There is no normal life, there's just life. Now get on with it"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Budehuc Castle All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
suikox.com by: Vextor


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
  Username:    Password:      Remember me